September 10, 2014

Community Resources on Aging

One of the best places to start looking for community resources on aging is your local Area Agency on Aging (AAA). Every county in the United States has an AAA, which oversees all state and federal programs on aging. In Guilford County, the AAA is a division of the Piedmont Triad Regional Council, which serves 12 counties in central North Carolina, including Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry and Yadkin counties.

There are six standards which North Carolina’s AAA meets, which are listed below:

  1. Management and staffing.
  2. Planning.
  3. Funds administration and quality assurance.
  4. Information brokerage.
  5. Program, resource and systems development.
  6. Advocacy.

The AAA is staffed in positions supported with aging funds to fulfill the goals and objectives for the region. It also monitors all contractual programs, including the standards associated with the services and the budgeting necessary to provide the services. The AAA keeps all stakeholders informed about the requirements of all funding including the Home and Community Care Block Grant. Additionally, the AAA plays a lead role in assisting individuals, communities, health care facilities, public officials and others in becoming aware of and knowledgeable about aging issues available to older adults and caregivers. They also spend time with consumers and others discussing the issues affecting older adults in North Carolina. Another major role of the AAA is to engage in activities that promote a system of care for older adults that is accessible. It also assures that the individual and collective interests of older adults, their caregivers and families and individuals with disabilities, will be safeguarded and recognized.

For more resources on aging and other helpful information, visit AuthoraCare’s caregiver resources page.